Number Theory Web Seminar

This number theory seminar is purely online. Our talks come from various corners of the field and of the world. They are streamed live on Zoom.

Organizers:

  • Michael Bennett (University of British Columbia)

  • Philipp Habegger (University of Basel)

  • Alina Ostafe (UNSW Sydney)


There are no fees, but registration is necessary. To register please follow this link.

Registered users will receive an email a few hours before the talk with a link to the Zoom meeting.

The seminar runs every Thursday. Please note the usual times of the seminar below and in the FAQ Section.

Talks are usually 50 minutes and then time for some questions.

Contact: ntweb.seminar@gmail.com

Please consider the following:

  • Each talk has a unique Zoom meeting-ID that all registered participants receive by email before the talk. You will receive this email from organizers@ntwebseminar.org. Never publicly share this ID or the password.

  • If you did not received an invitation one hour before the talk please check your spam folder. If you cannot find the email there please contact ntweb.seminar@gmail.com.

  • Some mail servers are blocking our domain. Registered participants can click here to get the link to the next talk.

  • To unsubscribe from the mailing list please follow the link at the bottom of the invitation email.

  • Participant's audio is muted by default. You can unmute to ask questions.

  • You can ask questions in the chat window or by unmuting the microphone and asking them directly.

Next talk:



Jonathan Keating, Joint Moments
(University of Oxford)


Thursday, April 15, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, April 16, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: I will discuss the joint moments of the Riemann zeta-function and its derivative, and the corresponding joint moments of the characteristic polynomials of random unitary matrices and their derivatives.


Upcoming talks:

Renate Scheidler, Computing modular polynomials and isogeny graphs of rank 2 Drinfeld modules
(University of Calgary)


Thursday, April 22, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, April 23, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: Drinfeld modules represent the function field analogue of the theory of complex multiplication. They were introduced as "elliptic modules" by Vladimir Drinfeld in the 1970s in the course of proving the Langlands conjectures for GL(2) over global function fields. Drinfeld modules of rank 2 exhibit very similar behaviour to elliptic curves: they are classified as ordinary or supersingular, support isogenies and their duals, and their endomorphism rings have an analogous structure. Their isomorphism classes are parameterized by j-invariants, and Drinfeld modular polynomials can be used to compute their isogeny graphs whose ordinary connected components take the shape of volcanos. While the rich analytic and algebraic theory of Drinfeld modules has undergone extensive investigation, very little has been explored from a computational perspective. This research represents the first foray in this direction, introducing an algorithm for computing Drinfeld modular polynomials and isogeny graphs.

This is joint work with Perlas Caranay and Matt Greenberg, as well as ongoing research with Edgar Pacheco Castan. Some familiarity with elliptic curves is expected for this talk, but no prior knowledge of Drinfeld modules is assumed.


Pietro Corvaja, tba
(University of Udine)

Special Chair: Andrew Granville (University of Montreal)


Thursday, April 29, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, April 30, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Akshay Venkatesh, tba
(Institute for Advanced Study)


Thursday, May 6, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm IDT, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, May 7, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Alex Kontorovich, tba
(Rutgers University)


Thursday, May 13, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, May 14, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Alice Silverberg, tba
(University of California, Irvine)


Thursday, May 20, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, May 21, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Robert Tichy, tba
(TU Graz)


Thursday, May 27, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, May 28, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Antoine Chambert-Loir, tba
(Université Paris-Diderot)


Thursday, June 3, 2021 (11am PDT, 2pm EDT, 7pm BST, 8pm CEST, 9pm Israel Daylight Time, 11:30pm Indian Standard Time)
Friday, June 4, 2021 (2am CST, 4am AEST, 6am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Matthew Young, tba
(Texas A&M University)


Thursday, June 10, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, June 11, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Shou-Wu Zhang, tba
(Princeton University)


Thursday, June 17, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, June 18, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Annette Huber-Klawitter, tba
(University of Freiburg)


Thursday, June 24, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, June 25, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Manjul Bhargava, tba
(Princeton University)

A talk in honor of Don Zagier's 70th birthday


Thursday, July 1, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, July 2, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Brian Conrey, tba
(American Institute of Mathematics)


Thursday, July 8, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, July 9, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Ricardo Menares, tba
(Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)


Thursday, July 15, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, July 16, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Kumar Murty, tba
(University of Toronto)


Thursday, July 22, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, July 23, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Arno Fehm, tba
(TU Dresden)


Thursday, July 29, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, July 30, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Frank Calegari, tba
(University of Chicago)


Thursday, August 5, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, August 6, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Francesco Amoroso, tba
(University of Caen)


Thursday, August 12, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, August 13, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Alexandru Zaharescu, tba
(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)


Thursday, August 26, 2021 (1pm PDT, 4pm EDT, 9pm BST, 10pm CEST, 11pm Israel Daylight Time)
Friday, August 27, 2021 (1:30am Indian Standard Time, 4am CST, 6am AEST, 8am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Lars Kühne, tba
(University of Copenhagen)


Thursday, September 2, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, September 3, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Emmanuel Kowalski, tba
(ETH Zürich)


Thursday, September 9, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, September 10, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Martin Sombra, tba
(ICREA and University of Barcelona)


Thursday, September 16, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, September 17, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Alina Carmen Cojocaru, tba
(University of Illinois at Chicago)


Thursday, September 23, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, September 24, 2021 (1am AEST, 3am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Anish Ghosh, tba
(Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)


Thursday, September 30, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 1, 2021 (1am AEST, 4am NZDT)

Abstract: tba


Jean-Marc Deshouillers, tba
(University of Bordeaux)


Thursday, October 14, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 15, 2021 (2am AEST, 4am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Dimitris Koukoulopoulos, tba
(University of Montreal)


Thursday, October 28, 2021 (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm Israel Daylight Time, 8:30pm Indian Standard Time, 11pm CST)
Friday, October 29, 2021 (2am AEST, 4am NZST)

Abstract: tba


Sponsors:

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of:

  • University of Basel (financial support, zoom licence)

  • Max Planck Institute for Mathematics (zoom licence, 2020)