Number Theory Web Seminar

This number theory seminar is purely online. Our talks come from various corners of the field and of the world. They are streamed live on Zoom.

Organizers:

  • Mike Bennett (University of British Columbia)

  • Philipp Habegger (University of Basel)

  • Alina Ostafe (UNSW Sydney)


There are no fees, but registration is necessary. To register please follow this link.

Registered users will receive an email a few hours before the talk with a link to the Zoom meeting.

The seminar runs every Thursday. Please note the usual times of the seminar below and in the FAQ Section.

Talks are usually 50 minutes and then time for some questions.

Contact: ntweb.seminar@gmail.com

Please consider the following:

  • Each talk has a unique Zoom meeting-ID that all registered participants receive by email before the talk. You will receive this email from organizers@ntwebseminar.org. Never publicly share this ID or the password.

  • If you did not received an invitation one hour before the talk please check your spam folder. If you cannot find the email there please contact ntweb.seminar@gmail.com.

  • Some mail servers are blocking our domain. Registered participants can click here to get the link to the next talk.

  • To unsubscribe from the mailing list please follow the link at the bottom of the invitation email.

  • Participant's audio is muted by default. You can unmute to ask questions.

  • You can ask questions in the chat window or by unmuting the microphone and asking them directly.

Next talk:



William Banks, On the distribution of reduced fractions with squarefree denominators
(University of Missouri)


Thursday, January 28, 2021 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)

Friday, January 29, 2021 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: In this talk we discuss how the nonvanishing of the Riemann zeta function in a half-plane {sigma>sigma_0}, with some real sigma_0<1, is equivalent to a strong statement about the distribution in the unit interval of reduced fractions with squarefree denominators.

The approach utilizes an unconditional generalization of a theorem of Blomer concerning the distribution "on average" of squarefree integers in arithmetic progressions to large moduli.


Upcoming talks:

Oleksiy Klurman, On the zeros of Fekete polynomials
(University of Bristol)


Thursday, February 4, 2021 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)

Friday, February 5, 2021 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: Since their discovery by Dirichlet in the nineteenth century, Fekete polynomials (with coefficients being Legendre symbols) and their zeros attracted considerable attention, in particular, due to their intimate connection with putative Siegel zero and small class number problem. The goal of this talk is to discuss what we knew, know and would like to know about zeros of such (and related) polynomials. Joint work with Y. Lamzouri and M. Munsch.


Don Zagier, tba
(Max Planck Institute for Mathematics)


Thursday, February 11, 2021 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)

Friday, February 12, 2021 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: tba


Gabriel Dill, tba
(University of Oxford)


Thursday, February 18, 2021 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)

Friday, February 19, 2021 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: tba


Sanju Velani, tba
(University of York)


Thursday, February 25, 2021 (8am PST, 11am EST, 4pm GMT, 5pm CET, 6pm Israel Standard Time, 9:30pm Indian Standard Time)

Friday, February 26, 2021 (12am CST, 3am AEDT, 5am NZDT)

Abstract: tba


Julia Wolf, tba
(University of Cambridge)


Thursday, March 4, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, March 5, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Chantal David, tba
(Concordia University)


Thursday, March 11, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, March 12, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Shabnam Akhtari, tba
(University of Oregon)


Thursday, March 18, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, March 19, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Vitaly Bergelson, tba
(Ohio State University)


Thursday, March 25, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, March 26, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Boris Adamczewski, tba
(Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1)


Thursday, April 1, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, April 2, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


János Pintz, tba
(Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics)


Thursday, April 8, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, April 9, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Jonathan Keating, tba
(University of Oxford)


Thursday, April 15, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, April 16, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Renate Scheidler, tba
(University of Calgary)


Thursday, April 22, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, April 23, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Pietro Corvaja, tba
(University of Udine)


Thursday, April 29, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, April 30, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Akshay Venkatesh, tba
(Institute for Advanced Study)


Thursday, May 6, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, May 7, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Alex Kontorovich, tba
(Rutgers University)


Thursday, May 13, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, May 14, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Robert Tichy, tba
(TU Graz)


Thursday, May 27, 2021 (TBA)
Friday, May 28, 2021 (TBA)

Abstract: tba


Sponsors:

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of:

  • University of Basel (financial support, zoom licence)

  • Max Planck Institute for Mathematics (zoom licence)